Members

Abdulaziz Alenazi

Supervision: Kevin Walters, Miguel Juarez, Angela Cox

Research interests:

Statistical genetics.

Contact details:

Email: AAAlenazi1@shef.ac.uk

Dr Alex Best

Research interests:

Mathematical biology; Evolutionary dynamics; Population dynamics.

Contact details:

Email: A.Best@shef.ac.uk
Website: http://abest.staff.shef.ac.uk

Prof Paul Blackwell

Research interests:

Bayesian statistics; Inference for random processes; Statistical ecology; Environmental and archaeological applications.

Contact details:

Email: P.Blackwell@shef.ac.uk
Website: http://www.paul-blackwell.staff.shef.ac.uk/index.html

Prof Chris Cannings

Research interests:

Mathematical modelling of evolution and natural selection; general aspects of networks.
Current work under EU Grant HIERATIC is concerned with course graining and includes mixed majority/minority games (in partiular on hypercubes and bipartitie cubic graphs), the Modular Game and Rock-Scissor-Paper games within a Moran type model (all with RA John Haslegrave).

Contact details:

Email: C.Cannings@shef.ac.uk
Website: http://chris-cannings.co.uk/

Nicola Connell

Supervision: Ashley Cadby, Miguel Juarez

Research interests:

Analysis of STORM (Stochastic Optical Reconstruction Microscopy) data using Bayesian statistics.

Contact details:

Email: NConnell1@shef.ac.uk

James Cumiskey

Supervision: Rhoda Hawkins, Nick Monk, Andrew Fleming

Research interests:

Mechanisms of leaf development.

Contact details:

Email: pha08jc@shef.ac.uk

Natasha Ellison

Supervision: Jonathan Potts

Research interests:

Mathematical biology.

Contact details:

Email: NEllison1@shef.ac.uk

Dr Katie Fisher

Supervision: David Strutt, Nick Monk

Research interests:

I am currently working on mathematical models of planar polarity formation, investigating global polarity cues and feedback mechanisms. I test model predictions by carrying out experiments in developing Drosophila tissues. I have a wider interest in how cell polarity is maintained in migrating cells, its role in collective cell movement, and its role in the morphogenesis of three dimensional structures.

Contact details:

Email: K.H.Fisher@shef.ac.uk
Website: http://www.drkatherinefisher.wordpress.com/

Dr Alex Fletcher

Research interests:

Mathematical biology, morphogenesis, tissue dynamics.

Contact details:

Email: A.G.Fletcher@sheffield.ac.uk
Website: http://alex-fletcher.staff.shef.ac.uk/

Dr Miguel Juarez

Research interests:

Gene regulatory networks, panel and longitudinal data, reference priors.
I am currently working on models for gene regulatory networks using short time series with replicated measurements, exploring ways of specifying priors that can accommodate correlations among the network coefficients. I am also developing models for analysis and tracking of STORM superresolution imaging.

Contact details:

Email: M.Juarez@shef.ac.uk
Website: http://majuarez.staff.shef.ac.uk/

Dr Eun-Jin Kim

Research interests:

Regulation, self-organization and complexity in nonlinear systems including biological systems; Stochastic theory of structure formation, and transport and its regulation; Interdisciplinary research in non-equilibrium systems.

Contact details:

Email: E.Kim@shef.ac.uk

Prof Nick Monk

Research interests:

Mathematical biology; Regulatory networks; Pattern formation.

Contact details:

Email: N.Monk@shef.ac.uk
Website: http://nick-monk.staff.shef.ac.uk/

Rhys Munden

Supervision: Jonathan Potts

Research interests:

I model animal movements with the aim of being able to predict how they will move.

Contact details:

Email: RDMunden1@shef.ac.uk

Alison Parton

Supervision: Paul Blackwell

Research interests:

Animal movement; Statistical ecology.

Contact details:

Email: AParton2@shef.ac.uk
Website: http://alisonparton.co.uk/

Dr Jonathan Potts

Research interests:

Mathematical ecology; Animal movement; Biological invasions.

Contact details:

Email: J.Potts@shef.ac.uk
Website: http://www.math.ualberta.ca/~jrpotts/

Michael Spence

Supervision: Julia Blanchard and Paul Blackwell

Research interests:

Computational Statistics; Individual Based Models; Intractable likelihood.

Contact details:

Email: M.A.Spence@shef.ac.uk

Jaspreet Toor

Supervision: Alex Best

Research interests:

Mathematical biology; Host-parasite evolution.

Contact details:

Email: JToor1@shef.ac.uk

Dr Kevin Walters

Research interests:

Genetic epidemiology and statistical genetics.

Contact details:

Email: K.Walters@shef.ac.uk
Website: http://www.kevinwalters.staff.shef.ac.uk/